iRacing Pro Race of Champions Set for Wednesday

No Comment 25 Views

The green flag waves on the inaugural Pro Race of Champions (iPRoC) this Wednesday, December 14.  Make that two green flags, as top professional race drivers from around the world will compete in a pair of online races Wednesday evening, both of which will be broadcast on beginning at 8 pm EST.iracing gets champs up to speed

The first event will see the Pros racing their digital Chevrolet Silverados for 25 laps under the lights on iRacing’s virtual version of Charlotte Motor Speedway. In the “night cap,” the Pros will tackle Watkins Glen International’s Cup Course for ten laps in their Mazda MX5s.

More than two dozen professional race drivers are expected to compete in Wednesday’s races including NASCAR Sprint Cup champion Bobby Labonte, GRAND-AM Rolex Series champion Alex Gurney, ALMS GT champion Joey Hand, IndyCar drivers Justin Wilson and Sebastian Saavedra, perennial NHRA Funny Car winner Ron Capps, Australian V8 Supercar front runner Shane van Gisbergen and Formula One veterans Stefan Johansson and Scott Speed.

“I’m really looking forward to Wednesday,” says Capps. “It’s going to be fun racing against guys from NASCAR, F1, IndyCar, ALMS and GRAND-AM . . . showing everyone I can race for more than a quarter mile, not to mention turn left AND right. And the fact that fans all over the world can watch it live makes it even more special.  I can’t wait.”  

Aside from bragging rights, there’s nearly $2,000 at stake, as iRacing will make contributions to the top three finishers’ favorite charities. The overall winner will be determined by the cumulative results from both races, with iRacing donating $1,500 to his favorite charity, $500 to the charity of the runner-up and $250 to the third placed driver’s charity of choice.

A list of expected participants for the Pro Race of Champions is below.

Qualifying for the iPRoC starts at 8 pm eastern time on Wednesday, December 14.  Be sure and catch all the action on

Provisional Field

  • Joey Logano – NASCAR
  • Alex Gurney – GRAND-AM
  • Bobby Labonte – NASCAR
  • Ron Capps – NHRA
  • Justin Wilson – INDYCAR
  • Shane van Gisbergen – Aussie V8 Supercars
  • Scott Speed – NASCAR / F1
  • Stefan Johansson – F1 & CART
  • Matt Plumb – GRAND-AM
  • Colin Braun – NASCAR
  • Joey Hand – ALMS
  • Timmy Hill – NASCAR
  • Tommy Kendall – IMSA / TV Broadcaster
  • Trevor Hopwood – GRAND-AM
  • Frank Kimmel II – ARCA
  • Martin Plowman – INDYCAR
  • Barry Waddell – GRAND-AM
  • Sebastian Saavedra – INDYCAR
  • Josh Wise – NASCAR
In : PC

About the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked (required)

What is 11 + 11 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:
IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Trending Now